Navigating the Medical Marijuana Laws in Massachusetts can be overwhelming for some. Though our team are not lawyers we can offer some basic guidance.
We have not seen new guidance for hardship cultivation in Massachusetts since our last post on the topic. Can I Grow My Own Medical Marijuana In Massachusetts. in May 2013. The State did issue guidance to municipalities and police in August 2015. This guidance hasn’t changed (as far as we can tell). The State has not began issuing hardship waivers. This means in short that you can still Grow Marijuana if you are a registered patient.
Over the last several weeks The Team has seen a increase in users looking for information about:
- Can you legally grow marijuana in Massachusetts with a marijuana card
- Can i grow marijuana in Massachusetts if i have a medical card
- Grow medical marijuana Massachusetts up to 20 plants
- Hardship cultivation registration Massachusetts
- Massachusetts hardship cultivation registration
- If i have my mmcard can i grow as a patient in Massachusetts
- How many plants can you grow in Massachusetts
- Can a person with a medical marijuana card cultivate in Massachusetts
- What is Massachusetts cultivation hardship limit of plants
The most recent update from the State comes from a documents issued to police and municipalities. The document outlines the roll these agencies should consider. Please be advised that these are only excerpts from the official documents. We highly recommend you read every document posted on our Massachusetts Marijuana Resources page and on the States website if you have further concerns.
Until DPH begins to process hardship cultivation applications, patients or their caregivers may conduct limited cultivation at their primary residence, but may only grow a sufficient amount for their sixty day supply as certified by the patient’s physician. They must remain in compliance with all DPH regulations regarding Hardship Cultivation. DPH will announce when applications for Hardship Cultivation Registration will be required for home cultivation.
Who may grow their own Marijuana?
Chapter 369 also allows qualifying patients to apply for a hardship cultivation registration, which would allow the patient, or the patient’s designated personal caregiver, to cultivate marijuana at home the patient’s own use.
A personal caregiver must:
be at least 21 years old;
have agreed to assist with a registered qualifying patient’s medical use of marijuana; and not be the registered qualifying patient’s certifying physician.
Until DPH begins to process hardship cultivation applications patients or their caregivers may conduct limited cultivation at their primary residence, but may only grow a sufficient amount for their sixty day supply as certified by the patient’s physician. They must remain in compliance with all DPH regulations regarding Hardship Cultivation. DPH will announce when applications for Hardship Cultivation Registration will be required for home cultivation.
DPH has not defined a maximum number of plants that may be grown, but there should be no more than what is necessary to meet the patient’s individual needs.
UPDATE 2-15-16. DPH has defined 60 day supply as 10 ounces of dried flowers.
Where may patients and caregivers grow marijuana?
Marijuana may be cultivated and stored only in an enclosed, locked area not visible to the public at the patient’s or caregiver’s primary residence (not both).
As you can tell the rules are subjective to say the least. There is no formal language pertaining to the question
How many plants can you grow in Massachusetts.
We suggest when setting up a grow you not grow more than 12 plants. 6 in the vegetative stage and 6 in the flowering stage. These are the generally accepted amounts. This would likely satisfy a judge interpreting the law. Approximately one ounce per a week for personal use.
As far as dried flowers it’s been suggested that 10 Ounces for 60 days is the legal limit. We have not found any official definitive language for this. The decimalization of Marijuana in Massachusetts allows for 1 once but if you have more and don’t have a Medical Marijuana Card and encounter the police you would likely be charge with distribution.
The take away from all this is be careful and watch our site for more guidance.
Tips to grow Marijuana at home.
- Don’t grow Cannabis if you don’t have a Active Medical Marijuana Card.
- Do not under any circumstances sell or give Marijuana to anyone.
- Do not tell anyone that you are growing Cannabis. For that matter don’t tell anyone you have a Medical Marijuana Card.
- Read the States guidance and follow the rules the best you can. Especially the part about keeping your grow in a locked room out of site from the public.
We hope this article helps patients to understand the rules a bit better. That said we are not lawyers or agents for the State of Massachusetts. It’s up to you to decide if our interpretations should be used as guidance. We recommend clarifying your intentions with your Doctor or the state.